She’s in Accounting?

If I’ve known someone for long enough, they’ll start to develop an idea of who I am.  “Long Enough” isn’t really very long.  I make my values, lifestyle, choices and perspectives very evident.

I’m from the Yukon, this means I like:

– mountains

– trees (evergreens)

– glacial streams

– endurance sports

– hippy sweaters

– vegetables

– music festivals

– socks with sandals (only under certain circumstances, also this point is pretty irrelevant)

I’m that girl who’s obsessed with “Healthy Living”, “Sustainability”, and “Equality”. Now, just for clarity, the people that I surround myself with are a mixed bag. I may be an enviro-keener, but that isn’t everyone’s schtick.  Either way, my enthusiasm and intensity toward my passions tends to define me to those I meet.

Somewhere along the road the inevitable question is asked when we’ve run out of more stimulating conversation, “So… what, um, program are you in at school Britt?”

“Oh I haven’t told you? I’m in commerce, Accounting.”

“Wow, I mean, good job, but I didn’t see that coming.  I was thinking maybe environmental science, International affairs maybe?”

I suppose and explanation is necessary. I mean, usually telling them my grand plan helps them connect the dots. “I plan on doing my masters at UBC in sustainable and socially responsible business.”

*Lightbulb*

I can, however, divulge a more in depth “Why?”

1. I’m a planner.  Every single piece of my life-puzzle so far plays a role in a larger objective.  Even though each tiny piece on it’s own doesn’t seem to fit anywhere, together they become my ultimate goals.  Not everyone can see my big picture.  Seeing the big picture is a chronic illness of mine.

2. I like every school subject.  I took every possible course in high school and wound up with great results in each field of study.  How do you narrow down an array of sciences, MATH (emphasis on the math), history, english, philosophy, outdoor ed, french.. and the list goes on. Well, in business, I can expect to be affected by everything.  I like math, I like people, and I like other things.  My mom told me I might like business 🙂

3. I have a fear of permanently closing doors.  If I chose another field of study, would it be as applicable in as great a variety of fields as commerce? Likely not.  My degree, from my perspective, didn’t have much of an opportunity cost.  I wasn’t permanently forgoing my love of anything else.

4.  I embrace change in most aspects of my life, as I have since I was born while my mom was in university, but I crave stability.  I love to travel, and move, and try new things, and I want to make sure that my degree won’t let me fall off the deep end while doing such things.  No matter where my dreams take me, I will be employable.

5. I admire my dad.  Inside and out, I am nearly identical to my mother, because she raised me, but somehow, somewhere my dad had to have an influence.  Even though I haven’t lived with him since I was two, my biannual visits have instilled a subconscious need for connection, common ground and approval.  My dad is a very successful businessman.  He has an awesome, relatively small resort development partnership called Resort Ventures West.  He also has an accounting degree.  He absolutely loves his job, because it relates his personal passions (skiing, golf, outdoors) to his work.  I would like that, and I want to show him that I can have that.

6. I went on a trip to the Dominican Republic.  There I lived with their “Middle class” (impoverished) families, and was exposed to the atrocities that large corporations are capable of.  From the living conditions in the sugar cane Batays to the treatment of “employees” in the Free Trade zones, I knew that once I had seen it, I would not be able to live with a clear conscience unless I took it upon myself to somehow change the current state of commerce.

7.  I believe that the only way to fix an issue is from the source. Public policy is excellent, most definitely, but it doesn’t change the nature of business.  I think a socially responsible business only arises from consumer’s demand and/ or an individual’s values.  Power hungry corporations will continue to seek out ways to bend the rules and be malicious if that is perceived to be the way to success.

8. I want to be credible.  I want to have the business knowledge needed to make a legitimate case for sustainable and socially responsible business.  I know that businesses can be profitable and ethical, but if I want to either create my own company or make a living at sustainability consulting for other companies, I have to have the business sense to prove it.  If I understand the accounting and the economics, I will make a better case.  They don’t listen to hippies.

9. My mom told me that her science degree was useless.  She has a degree in biology.  She Is now the director of community affairs in the Yukon.  Correlated? I think not.

10. Organic produce is expensive.  If I want to pay for my ethically produced food and goods, I need to have a degree that will enable me to foot the bill.

I think my ambitions are evident.  I want to complete my bachelors with honours.  UBC is strict with who they let in.  I want to travel.  If I don’t travel more then I have, I believe I will have an insufficient global perspective. I have a fear of being ignorant, because I am fairly intolerant of ignorance myself. Such is life as a hippie.  Following my travels, I hope to find a sustainability consulting firm in Vancouver looking for interns.  The hippie MBA at UBC requires 2 years minimum of post baccalaureate work experience.  From that point on my dreams involve running a company that does it’s part in the fight for ethical business.  I only want as much money as my sports equipment, organic produce, hybrid(or diesel), and reclaimed wood home will cost me.  Somehow, I want this to take me back home so that I can contribute to the Northern economy.  I plan on raising a family where I was raised, because regardless of the “isolation” of the North, I think it gave me countless opportunities.

I truly aspire to inspire others to treat the environment and other individuals with the care they would give to a loved one.  If I can do this through example AND through the purpose of my employment I will be satisfied.

No way.

ELATED!

I would like to contribute to the improvement of the condition of our earth and society so that the next generation does not have to feel our burden.

That is my BIG, GIANT, ALL ENCOMPASSING sense of purpose

My aspirations, fortunately, can be worked toward continuously.  I do my best, daily, to practice what I preach, to keep myself informed, to share my perspective with people who appreciate it.  In living the way I live, I give priority to my aspirations.  In persevering through each class and planning ahead, I give priority to my ambitions.  My ambitions were developed after my aspirations because they were instilled at a young age.  I have a hard time distinguishing between the two because I live them both simultaneously.  My ambitions will amplify my aspirations, which is why I am committed to all of my plans.  My aspirations, however, can be achieved through everyday interactions.  In this way, I’m torn.  I do not have to give up one to get the other, even today during my second semester of my third year of university.  I haven’t prioritized.

I hope I won’t flop because of it.

Leave a Reply

